New free pattern – Saponaria

I’ve got a new crochet pattern available here on Ravelry! Saponaria are pretty fingerless gloves with a flap to warm up fingers. The thumb is left outside to play with phone, spoon or anything else, but it can easily be covered. The pattern is designed for a size G (4mm) hook and Malabrigo merino worsted yarn. This yarn is a dream to crochet with. Very soft and fast to work with. Buttons come from this website I really love (it’s in french).

This design is named after a flower I particularly like, the saponaria, which used to grow near my house when I was a child. With my friends, we were using the flowers to wash our hands in the river.

Those mitts really are instant crochet gratification: I just needed one day and a half to finish them, including finishing, sewing buttons etc. They are for the friend who brought me back the loft skeins from her trip to New York.

All the crochet stitches used in the pattern are explained, and I took a lot of pictures to help the construction to be understood. This project is perfect for a beginner or for someone who just want to get quickly a nice pair of fingerless mitts. They will be a perfect accessory for the oncoming fall !

Leave a Reply

